Year end closing operations | Double-entry accounting

In this article

End of the Year operations include all checking, assessment and time related operation that needs to be at the end of the year before preparing the year's financial statements.

Technical aspects

With Banana Accounting each accounting year has its own separate file; technically there is no concept of accounting closure:

  • When a New Year starts a new file is created with the Create New Year command.
  • You can keep working on both the New Year's file and the previous year file at the same time. Once the closing operations are complete, you can update the opening balances of the New Year's file.

Fiscal aspects

Before closing the accounting, is is necessary to proceed with a series of operations that have fiscal implications. The inventory account needs to be adapted, transactions for depreciation need to be entered, the transitional income and liabilities, the VAT declaration needs to be completed, establish how and unto which accounts the profit or loss has to be attributed and there are many other operations of verification and checking.

From the program's point of view, there is no difference whether the profit is high or low. There are a lot of implications from a fiscal point of view however. These aspects need to be verified with your own tax advisor or accountant. It can be very useful, especially when you manage an accounting for the first the time and before you proceed with the closing of the books, to consult a specialist in order to understand what is required. Accountants are usually very busy at the beginning of the year and during the period preceding the deadline for the tax declaration. It may therefore prove useful to meet with your accountant or send him the accounting file - a few months before the closing of the books, so that you can inform yourself on how to proceed.

Check accounting command

Banana Accounting allows you to quickly record and also to leave pending operations without interrupting the continuation of the work.

The Actions → Check Accounting command performs a whole series of checks, as if you were re-entering the data from the beginning, and when errors or differences are detected, these are signaled.

It is advisable to use the Check Accounting command with a certain regularity and every time there are differences or error signals, important changes (opening exchange rates, VAT codes) and especially before closing the accounting.

Checks and verifications

Verification of the opening balances

  • In the Accounts table, in the Opening and Balance columns, in the row "Difference must be zero" no amount must be shown, otherwise there is an error that must be found and corrected in order for the opening balances to be correct.
    Note: In the Transactions view, in the Debit and Credit columns, it is normal have amounts.
  • Make sure the prior year's receivable and payable transactions are closed.
  • Verify that the opening balances are consistent with the previous year's ending balances already reviewed and reported to the Tax Office.
  • For multi-currency accounting see the appropriate page Opening Balances in Multi-Currency Accounting.

Verification of accounting balances

The first thing to do is undoubtedly to make sure that the account balances match. The cash account balance must match the actual cash balance. The balance of bank accounts, credit cards, loans, or credit balances must match the balance on the bank statement. The same applies to all other accounts with which you have deferrals, VAT, suppliers, etc.

If there is a difference, you must find out why and correct accordingly either the opening balance or the transactions.

Differences in the Transactions table

In the Transactions table (Info window at the bottom), check that no differences are reported. In addition to the features present in the Check accounting command,  in the Transactions table of Banana Accounting Plus there is also the Balance column, which allows you to detect all the rows where differences are created. Just a quick scrolling of the column is enough to immediately identify the accounting differences and correct them, without carrying on the errors in the New Year.

Differences between bank balances of bank statements and accounting balances (CheckBalance feature)

This operation is fundamental for the veracity of the accounting. We advise you to carry on the verification of the balances, #CheckBalance, not only at the end of the accounting period, but periodically at the end of each month, to avoid that any mismatched balances are carried on from month to month.
More information on the verification of balance at the Checkbalance page.

Multi-currency accounting

If you are using multi-currency accounting you must also set up closing exchange rates and record unrealized exchange gains and losses. For this please refer to this page:

Closing accounting entries

At the end of the year, before moving into the New Year, there are closing accounting operations to be made. These are adjustment entries, value adjustments and adjustments relating to personnel contributions. Here are the main ones:

Import the movements of the cash account in the main accounting file
This operation is only made in case the cash account is kept separately on a separate file from the accounting.
After the import has taken place, verify that the balance of the cash account in the main accounting file corresponds to the balance of the cash file. This verification can also be done with the Check Balance function, described in the previous paragraph.

Import the payroll transactions in the accounting file
This operation is only made if the payroll is managed with a specific accounting software that allows you to import the transactions into the Banana Accounting Plus file.
The import is carried out from the menu Actions → Import into accounting → Import transactions with column header.
Remember to insert the entry of the 13th month of December quota, if this is not created by the payroll software.

Delcredere account adjustment
Companies that record on accrual method, if they foresee potential losses, must settle the Delcredere account.

Depreciation
At 31.12 it is necessary to record the depreciation of movable and immovable assets and to evaluate the possible accelerated depreciation for those assets subject to rapid obsolescence.
You can use our application Fixed Assets Register that automatically creates the depreciation transaction and you can resume them in the accounting file.

Inventory adjustment
Our Inventory application allows you to have accurate counts both by pieces and by value, helping you to determine your inventory settlement faster.

Assess customers and suppliers open invoices at 31.12
To make the process easier, with the feature of open invoices by customer and open invoices by supplier you can quickly detect the values as of 31.12.

Private use
If the company uses a company car, you need to enter the transaction for its private use with the appropriate VAT code.

Closure and VAT declaration
Before submitting the VAT declaration, we recommend the following verification operations:

  • Use the Check accounting command. In case of errors and differences, find the messages in the Information window (bottom of the screen), in the Messages section.
  • Verify that there are no differences in the Balance column of the Transactions table.
  • Check if your bank balances correspond to those shown in the bank statements.
  • Verify that, after having reversed the balance in the VAT due account (VAT to be paid to the FTA), the automatic VAT account is zero. The VAT due account must show the amount to be paid or the credit amount to be received.
  • Before submitting the last VAT return, take a look at the VAT statements for the previous quarters, to check that the amounts paid to the FTA still match the amounts displayed.
  • Use the VAT Report command to view the various reports and create a PDF printout for archiving the data. In the event of tax audits they will be useful.

Settle the account for the "Tax at the source"
After calculating and recording December salaries, proceed to enter the transaction for the "Tax at the source" settlement, based on the statement sent to the "Tax at the source office".

Refunds for upper management
If provided, include the amount allowed by the tax authorities as a lump sum refund in the December salary.

Private account settlement
Verify the balance of the private account. If there is a debit/credit relationship between the business and the owner(s) (or close persons), record the income or expense interests as provided in the loan agreement or according to applicable tax guidelines.

Taxes and fees account settlement
Verify that down payments made during the year relate to the current year. Tax payments that relate to previous years should first be recorded to close the corresponding amounts put aside, and then (if there are any exceeding amounts), they should recorded using the "Direct Taxes" account (assets). If the balance of the provisions is insufficient or excessive, the difference must be recorded as an extraordinary expense/revenue or relating to previous periods.

Recording of AVS/AD/IPG/AD final balances

  • During the year, in the AVS contributions account, the down payments made to the Cantonal AVS Compensation Fund (Debit) and the amounts withheld from employees' salaries (Credit) are usually recorded.
  • If during the year the family allowances paid to the employees have been recorded in a dedicated account, for example in the "Family allowances contributions" account, in order to reconcile the accounting with the AVS closing statement and to record the relevant settlement, the balance of this account can be transferred to the AVS/AD contributions account.

Recording of Lainf, Lainf complementary, LPP pension final balances
With the recording of the December salaries and the payment of the thirteenth month's salaries, you must print the salary list with the indication of all gross salaries. You must report the total AVS gross amount to the employee's insurance companies, who will determine any adjustments to be paid.

Sending the file to your accountant

If the closures and/or audits are carried out by your fiduciary, just send him/her the accounting file created with Banana Accounting Plus by email or save the data on a USB key.

  • If your trustee has Banana Accounting, it is sufficient to send him/her the .ac2 file by email or via USB key. You can also save your file and the digital documents in a shared folder with your trustee on Dropbox. You will no longer have to bring heavy paperwork folders to him/her.  Also, the trustee will work faster without having to go through the paper documentation.
  • If you your trustee doesn't have Banana Accounting, you can create a PDF file of the accounting data, through the menu File menu → Create PDF dossier and send him/her the file by email. The trustee will indicate to you all the modifications and additions to be recorded in order to correctly close the accounting period.
    Alternatively, your trustee can open your accounting file using the Free version of Banana Accounting Plus, by downloading it from our Download page. If your file has over 70 transactions, he/she won't be able to add entries or make modifications, but he/she will still be able to see all the data, get accounts detailed cards just by double-clicking on any account number, etc. and advise you on possible corrections and/or improvements.

Blocking transactions

Once the closing and verification entries have been made, we recommend proceeding locking your accounting transactions.

Year end printouts

For the accounting year-end printouts you can find the information by clicking on the following links:

PDF Dossier

The Create PDF Dossier command allows you to have all the documents of the entire accounting period (account cards, journal, VAT statements, monthly, quarterly and annual reports...) in a single PDF file.

You can archive the accounting data, saving the accounting file and the PDF printouts. Eventually, make backup copies on an external disk drive.

Documentation for the audit process

On the Preparing the documentation for the Audit page, we have posted a series of notes and suggestions on documentation to send to the auditor. A complete documentation is a good basis for making the auditor's job more efficient and faster.

Profit/Loss allocation

In Banana Accounting Plus, the distribution of the profit or loss takes place automatically at the start of the  New Year. For further information consult the page Create New Year.

 

help_id
DlgDoppiaRiportaSaldi

Help us improve the documentation

We welcome feedback on how to improve this page.

Tell us what theme needs a better explanation or how to clarify a topic.

Share this article: Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Email

Clôtures | Comptabilité en partie double

Dans cet article

La clôture de la comptabilité désigne l'ensemble des opérations de contrôle, d'ajustement et de délimitation temporelle qui sont effectuées en fin d'année avant la préparation du bilan de l'année.

Aspects techniques

Avec Banana Comptabilité chaque année comptable a son propre fichier séparé. Techniquement il n'y a pas de concept de clôture comptable, car quand une nouvelle année commence un nouveau fichier est créé avec la commande Créer nouvelle année. Vous pouvez continuer à travailler sur le fichier de la nouvelle année et celui de l'année précédente en même temps. Une fois les opérations de clôture terminées, les soldes d'ouverture actualisés sont inclus dans le fichier de la nouvelle année.

Aspects fiscaux

Avant de clôturer la comptabilité, il faut effectuer une série d'opérations présentant des implications fiscales. Il faut ajuster le compte de marchandises, enregistrer les amortissements, les Actifs et les Passifs de régularisation, effectuer les déclarations à la TVA, établir comment et sur quels comptes le bénéfice doit être reparti et effectuer beaucoup d'autres opérations de vérification et de contrôle.

Du point de vue du programme, c'est égal si le bénéfice à la fin de l'année est plus ou moins élevé. Par contre, cela change beaucoup au niveau fiscal. Ces aspects doivent être vérifiés avec votre conseiller fiscal et/ou comptable. En particulier, lorsque vous gérez pour la première fois une comptabilité et avant de procéder avec la clôture, il peut être très utile de se faire conseiller par un expert pour comprendre quelles sont les exigences. Les comptables sont très occupés entre la fin de l’année et les mois précédant l'échéance de la déclaration des impôts. Il peut donc être utile de vous rencontrer avec votre comptable ou de l'envoyer votre comptabilité quelques mois avant la clôture, afin de pouvoir vous informer sur la procédure.

Contrôles et vérifications

Vérifier que les soldes des comptes correspondent

Le premier contrôle consiste sans doute à s'assurer que les soldes des comptes correspondent à la réalité. Le solde du compte de caisse doit correspondre au solde réel de la caisse. Le solde des comptes bancaires, des cartes de crédit, des prêts ou des soldes créditeurs doit correspondre à celui du relevé de compte. Il en va de même pour tous les autres comptes avec lesquels vous avez des régularisations, TVA, fournisseurs, etc.

S'il y a une différence, trouvez-en la raison et complétez soit le bilan d'ouverture, soit les écritures.

Opérations de contrôle de la comptabilité

Banana Comptabilité vous permet d'enregistrer rapidement et aussi de laisser des opérations en suspens ou de ne pas donner suite aux alertes et aux rapports d'erreur.

La commande Actions → Contrôler comptabilité effectue une série de contrôles, comme si vous réintroduisiez les données depuis le début, et lorsque des erreurs ou des différences sont trouvées, elles sont signalées.

Différences dans les soldes d'ouverture

  • Dans le tableau Comptes, à la ligne " Différence doit être nulle ", il ne doit pas y avoir de montant, sinon l'erreur doit être trouvée et corrigée pour équilibrer le solde d'ouverture.
  • S'assurer que les actifs et passifs transitoires de l'année précédente sont clôturés.
  • Assurez-vous que les soldes d'ouverture sont conformes aux soldes de clôture de l'année précédente déjà vérifiés et déclarés au bureau des impôts.

Différences dans le tableau Écritures

Dans le tableau Écritures (fenêtre Info au bas de la page), assurez-vous qu'aucune différence n'est signalée. En plus des fonctions présentes dans la commande Contrôle Comptabilité, Banana Comptabilité Plus, présente dans le tableau Écritures la colonne Solde, qui permet de détecter toutes les lignes où il y a des différences. Un rapide défilement de la colonne suffit pour identifier immédiatement les différences comptables et les corriger, sans ramener des erreurs dans la nouvelle année.

Différences entre les soldes des extraits de compte et les soldes des comptes (fonction CheckBalance)

Ce contrôle est essentiel pour la véracité des comptes. En plus de la vérification des soldes à la fin de la période comptable, il est recommandé d'effectuer #CheckBalance périodiquement à la fin du mois, afin d'éviter que des soldes non concordants soient reportés de manière incorrecte d'un mois à l'autre.
Des informations sur les Écritures de vérification des soldes sont disponibles sur la page Écritures de vérification des soldes.

Écritures comptables de clôture

À la fin de l'exercice comptable, avant de passer à la nouvelle année, il y a des opérations comptables de clôture à effectuer. Il s'agit d'écritures d'ajustement, de corrections de valeur et d'ajustements relatifs aux contributions du personnel. Les principales sont énumérées ci-dessous :

Importer les mouvements du compte de caisse dans le fichier comptable
Cette opération n'est prévue que si la caisse est conservée dans un fichier séparé de la comptabilité.
Après l'importation, vérifiez que le solde du compte de caisse dans le fichier de comptabilité principal correspond au solde du fichier de caisse. Cette vérification peut également être effectuée avec la fonction Check Balance, décrite dans le paragraphe précédent.

Importer les opérations salariales dans le fichier de comptabilité
Cette opération n'est prévue que si les salaires sont gérés avec un logiciel de gestion spécifique qui permet l'importation des mouvements dans le fichier de Banana Comptabilité+
L'importation s'effectue à partir du menu Actions → Importer en comptabilité → Importer des mouvements avec en-tête de colonne.
N'oubliez pas d'insérer la saisie du 13ème salaire de décembre, si celle-ci n'est pas créée par le logiciel de gestion des salaires.

Règlement du compte Ducroire
Les entreprises qui enregistrent sur le chiffre d'affaires, si elles anticipent des pertes présumées, doivent régulariser le compte Ducroire.

Amortissements
Au 31.12, vous devez enregistrer les amortissements des biens mobiliers et immobiliers et évaluer les éventuels amortissements accélérés pour les biens sujets à une obsolescence rapide.
Vous pouvez utiliser notre application Registre des actifs, qui crée automatiquement les écritures d'amortissement pour ensuite les enregistrer dans votre fichier de comptabilité.

Régularisation du stock
L'application Stock vous permet d'avoir des décomptes précis à la fois par pièces et par valeur, ce qui vous aide à déterminer plus rapidement le règlement de votre stock.

Suivi des factures ouvertes des clients et des fournisseurs au 31.12
Pour faciliter la procédure, vous pouvez enregistrer rapidement les valeurs au 31.12 avec la fonction des factures ouvertes par client et des factures ouvertes par fournisseur.

Consommation propre
En cas d'utilisation d'une voiture de société dans l'entreprise, enregistrez la consommation propre avec le code TVA approprié.

Clôtures et déclarations de TVA
Avant de soumettre la déclaration de TVA, nous vous recommandons de procéder aux vérifications suivantes :

  • Utilisez la commande Contrôler comptabilité. En cas d'erreurs et de divergences, vous trouverez des messages dans la fenêtre d'information en bas, dans la section Messages.
  • Vérifiez les différences dans la colonne Solde du tableau Écritures.
  • Vérifiez les soldes bancaires s'ils correspondent à ceux envoyés par la banque.
  • Vérifier que le compte TVA, décompte après l'annulation du solde du compte TVA due (TVA à payer à l'AFC) est nul. Le compte TVA due doit indiquer le montant à payer ou le montant du crédit à recevoir.
  • Avant de soumettre la dernière déclaration de TVA, consultez à nouveau les résumés TVA des autres trimestres pour vérifier que les montants versés à l'AFC correspondent toujours à ceux affichés.
  • La commande Résumé TVA permet de visualiser les différents rapports et de créer une impression PDF pour l'archivage des données. Cela sera utile en cas de contrôle fiscal.

Règlement du compte de l'impôt à la source
Après avoir comptabilisé et enregistré les salaires de décembre, sur la base de la déclaration envoyée au bureau de l'impôt à la source, enregistrez le décompte.

Remboursements pour les cadres supérieurs
Si cela est prévu, incluez le montant prévu par les autorités fiscales comme un remboursement forfaitaire dans le salaire de décembre.

Régularisation du compte privé
Vérifier le solde du compte privé. S'il existe une relation de débit/crédit entre l'entreprise et le(s) propriétaire(s) (ou les personnes qui leur sont proches), enregistrez le revenu ou la charge d'intérêts conformément au contrat de prêt ou aux directives fiscales applicables.

Enregistrement des décomptes AVS/AI/IPG/AD

  • Au cours de l'année, dans le compte des cotisations AVS, on enregistre généralement les avances versées à la Caisse cantonale de compensation AVS (Débit) et les montants retenus sur les salaires des employés (Débit).
  • Si, au cours de l'année, les allocations familiales versées aux salariés ont été enregistrées sur un compte dédié, par exemple sur le compte "Cotisations d'allocations familiales", le solde de ce compte peut être transféré sur le compte des cotisations AVS/AI afin de réconcilier les comptes avec le décompte de clôture de l'AVS et d'enregistrer le décompte correspondant.

Enregistrement des décomptes de prévoyance LAA, LAA complémentaire, LPP

Lorsque les derniers salaires de décembre sont comptabilisés et que le salaire du 13e mois est payé, vous devez imprimer la liste des salaires indiquant tous les salaires bruts. Le montant total brut de l'AVS doit être communiqué aux assurances du personnel, qui détermineront les éventuelles corrections à verser.

Envoyer le dossier au comptable pour les clôtures

Si les clôtures et/ou les contrôles sont effectués par votre fiduciaire, il suffit d'envoyer le fichier de comptabilité créé avec Banana Comptabilité+ par e-mail ou de sauvegarder les données sur une clé USB.

  • Si votre fiduciaire dispose de Banana Comptabilité, il suffit d'envoyer le fichier ac2 par e-mail ou via une clé USB. Vous pouvez également enregistrer votre dossier et vos documents numériques dans un dossier partagé avec votre syndic sur Dropbox. Vous n'aurez plus à apporter de lourds documents papier au syndic. En outre, le fiduciaire travaillera rapidement sans avoir à passer par la documentation papier.
  • Si votre fiduciaire n'a pas Banana Comptabilité, vous pouvez créer un Pdf des données comptables, par le menu Fichier → Créer fichier Pdf et envoyer la documentation par email. Le fiduciaire vous indiquera toutes les modifications et ajouts à enregistrer afin de clôturer correctement la période comptable.
    Votre fiduciaire pourra également ouvrir votre fichier comptable avec la version gratuite de Banana Comptabilité+, en téléchargeant le programme depuis notre page Download. Même s'il ne pourra pas ajouter des écritures ou faire des modifications, il pourra toujours voir toutes les données, ce qui est encore mieux que de vérifier les données sur des documents Pdf.

Blocage, impression et archivage

Une fois les écritures de clôture et de vérification effectuées, nous vous recommandons de procéder aux fonctions de blocage de la comptabilité et aux impressions de fin d'année.

Pour bloquer la comptabilité, allez dans le menu Actions → Bloquer écritures.

Pour les impressions de fin d'année comptable, vous pouvez trouver les informations en cliquant sur les liens suivants :

Documentation pour la révision

Sur la page Préparer la documentation pour la révision, nous avons publié une série de notes et de suggestions sur la documentation à envoyer au réviseur. Une documentation complète est une bonne base pour rendre le travail du réviseur plus efficace et plus rapide.

  • Bloquez les écritures pour éviter les modifications après la clôture et garantir l'intégrité des données.
  • Créez le dossier PDF pour disposer de tous les documents de l'ensemble de l'exercice (fiches de compte, journal, déclarations de TVA, rapports mensuels, trimestriels et annuels...) dans un seul fichier PDF.
  • Archivez vos données comptables, en sauvegardant le fichier comptable et les impressions en PDF. Si nécessaire, faites des copies de sauvegarde sur un disque dur externe.

Repartition bénéfice/perte

Dans Banana comptabilité, la repartition du bénéfice a lieu automatiquement au début de la nouvelle année. Pour plus d'informations, consultez la page Créer une nouvelle année.

 

help_id
DlgDoppiaRiportaSaldi

Aidez-nous à améliorer la documentation

Nous serions heureux de recevoir des commentaires sur l'amélioration de cette page.

Dites-nous quel thème doit être mieux expliqué ou comment clarifier un sujet.

Partager cet article: Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn | Email